Content-Relevant Native Product Ads Adapt to Your Pages

Content-Relevant Native Product Ads not only match your page content, but also adapt to your page’s look and feel. They mix with the page content naturally and natively. Here are a few examples.

Content-Relevant Native Product Ads are between text content and image content.

Content-Relevant Native Product ads are between image content and text content.

As you can see in the above screenshots, there are a few different layouts of the Content-Relevant Native Product ads. They are: Square, Cross Board, Horizontal Rectangle and Vertical Rectangle.

It is very easy to design a layout and its size. In the ad unit, you specify sizes as follows.

Square: You specify width and height as follows.

{
  ......,
  sizes: [[250, 250]],
  ......
}

Cross Board: You specify width as 1 and height as 1. The ad will be rendered as height=100px and width=100%.

{
  ......,
  sizes: [[1, 1]],
  ......
}

Horizontal Rectangle: You specify the width and height as follows.

{
  ......,
  sizes: [[320, 250]],
  ......
}

Vertical Rectangle: You specify the width and height as follows.

{
  ......,
  sizes: [[250, 400]],
  ......
}

To see the complete page and code, please go to https://www.adrelevantis.com/hb/gardenmanage-statuses-1000452175.html.

Feel free to drop us a line at info@adrelevantis.com or contact us at https://www.adrelevantis.com/ if you have any question or would like to know more about Content-Driven Advertising.

Content-Relevant Native Product Ads Make Different

Look at the following screen.

This is a side-by-side comparison between Content-Relevant Native Product Ads and other ads. Yes, you are right. The ads on left-hand side are Content-Relevant Native Product Ads. The ads on the right-hand side are the other ads.

The original page is on the right-hand side. Here is link to the page https://gardenmanage.com/statuses/1000452175.html.

The page on the left-hand side used the same content of the original page and replaced its ads with Content-Relevant Native Product Ads. Here is the link to the page https://www.adrelevantis.com/hb/gardenmanage-statuses-1000452175.html.

Feel free to explore the two pages and you will find out how the Content-Relevant Native Product Ads make different.

The Content-Relevant Native Product Ads are ideal to go within content as shown in the following screen. The right-hand side is the original page while the left-hand side is the page that uses Content-Relevant Native Product Ads.

Got the idea? Ready to try it with your content? Please go to the open source GitHub project at https://github.com/ghguo/adrhb-examples. Follow the simple examples and the Content-Relevant Native Product Ads start to display in your content.

Feel free to drop us a line at info@adrelevantis.com or contact us at https://www.adrelevantis.com/ if you have any question or would like to know more about Content-Driven Advertising.

Header Bidding, CPA and Content-Relevant Native Product Ads

Header Bidding (HB) bids on every impression, and therefore, is measured by CPM. On the other hand,  affiliate markets (Amazon, eBay, Commission Junction, etc.) works by CPA that you earn commissions based on how many referrals you generate.

For an affiliate market works with Header Bidding, you need to convert CPA to eCPM and make your bids based on eCPM. As a marketer, you will need to experiment with publisher’s content to come up with an eCPM.

As you may already know, Content-Relevant Native Product Ads are directly from affiliate markets and it works with CPA. So, you will need to convert CPA to eCPM to join the bid process of the Header Bidding.

Among other things (site traffic, demographics and locations), Content-Relevant Native Product Ads have one more advantage – Content Relevant, which means ads displayed are matched with page content. Here are a few key features of Content-Relevant Native Product Ads.

  • Content Relevant (better user experience without annoying irrelevant ads)
  • Native (go between content paragraphs seamlessly)
  • Works with Header Bidding (Prebid.js)

You can learn more about Content-Relevant Native Product Ads in the following blogs:

How Money is Earned from Native Product Ads | Improve Ad Relevancy (adrelevantis.xyz)

Content-Driven Advertising for Publishers | Improve Ad Relevancy (adrelevantis.xyz)

Content-Driven Native Header Bidding | Improve Ad Relevancy (adrelevantis.xyz)

Drop us a line at info@adrelevantis.com or contact us at https://www.adrelevantis.com/ if you have any question or would like to know more about Content-Driven Advertising.

How Money is Earned from Native Product Ads

Content-relevant Native Product Ads are directly from affiliate markets (Amazon, eBay, Commission Junction, etc.). You earn commissions based on how many referrals you generate. So, it is type of CPA marketing.

On the other hand, the Real-Time Bidding/Header Bidding (RTB/HB) often is measured by CPM or CPC. It is convenient to convert CPA to eCPM or eCPC.

The Publisher Report does these conversions and gives detailed effective Click Earning and effective Impression Earning.

In this report, the site generated $1.16 with 2 referrals, 341 impressions and 4 clicks in the selected period (the current month). Here are a few calculations in the report.

eCPC = 1.16 / 4 = 0.29
eCPM = 1.16 / 341 x 1000 = 3.40

The column eClickEarning is effective Click Earning. As an example, on 2022-03-07, there is 1 click, the eClickEarning is calculated as follows.

(Click in group bucket) x eCPC = 1 x 0.29 = 0.29

The column eImpressionEarning is effective Impression Earning. As an example, on 2022-03-07, there are 43 impressions, the eImpressionEarning is calculated as follows.

(Impression in group bucket) x eCPM / 1000 = 43 x 3.40 / 1000 = 0.15

Drop us a line at info@adrelevantis.com if you have any question or would like to know more about Content-Driven Advertising.

Publisher Report for Native Product Ads

Your sites have started to display relevant native product ads with AdRelevantis. You would like to see their performance. Here comes the Publisher Reports.

There is a report for each of your sites. You can download the report as a CSV file for each site.

You can select a date range or specify a custom date range as follows.

You can specify how the data is grouped as follows.

Please feel free to contact us at info@adrelevantis.com if you have any question or would like to know more about Content-Driven Advertising.

Content-Driven Advertising for Publishers

To display ads relevant to page content, you need to drop the Adrelevantis ad tag to the page.

The Adrelevantis ad tag has integrated with a Content Analyzer service, the Adrelevantis Bidder Adapter, and the Google tag service. You include the tag code to a page and specify ad areas. The relevant ads are displayed.

The ad tag supports both banner ads and native product ads. Native product ads are ideal to mingle with page content since they not only look and feel like the content but also are relevant to the content.

With Content-Driven Advertising for Publishers, you focus on providing best content to your audience while we focus on providing relevant ads to monetize your content.

To learn how to add the Adrelevantis ad tag to a page, please go to https://github.com/ghguo/adrhb-examples to see the examples.

If you are a publisher or a SSP (Supply-Side Platform) and would like to have Content-Driven Advertising capability in your systems, drop us a line at info@adrelevantis.com.

Content-Driven Advertising for Open Source Revive Ad Server

Content-Driven Advertising has been implemented in open source Revive Ad Server as Delivery Options. It is probably the first ad server that is capable of targeting ads based on content’s IAB Categories or content’s ranked keyword.

As you can see, the “Content – Category” and “Content – Keyword” are listed as delivery rules of Delivery Options for a banner.

The following screen shows that the banner is targeted to “travel” content, an IAB Category.

Now, the banner is ready for the targeted content. When a request with “travel” as its content category, the banner is selected and sent for display.

The source code for the Content-Driven Advertising of Revive Ad Server is packed as a php plugin. You can find the source code at https://github.com/ghguo/revivePlugins.

If your ad server is not Revive Ad Server and you would like it to have Content-Driven Advertising capability, drop us a line at info@adrelevantis.com.

Learn and Try Content-Driven Advertising

Content-Driven Advertising is intuitive. However, it is challenging to put all pieces together, particularly in today’s open exchange world.

So, we put up an environment for you to learn by trying. In the end, you can see ads relevant to the page content that you are reading.

In order for Content-Driven Advertising to work, advertisers should be able to target ads to content types while publishers need to pass content types as part of bid data. This environment is for both advertisers and publishers.

For advertisers, we provide an adserver based on open source Revive Adserver with AdRelevantis’ Content-Target plugin as a type of Delivery Options. As an advertiser, you can create campaigns and add ads to the campaigns. Then, you can target the ads to specific IAB Categories. You are assumed to have basic knowledge of Revive Adserver. Please go to https://www.adrelevantis.com/advertiser.html to get started.

For publishers, we provide a SSP service that has integrated with open source Prebid.js with AdRelevantis’ adrelevantisBidAdapter. This adapter passes IAB Categories and ranked keywords of page content as part of the bid data. Our ContentDrivenTag is also used to retrieve content’s IAB Categories and ranked keywords, wrap GoogleTagService, and render product ads natively. You are assumed to have basic knowledge of Prebid.js programming. Please go to https://www.adrelevantis.com/publisher.html to get started.

Please contact info@adrelevantis.com if you have any questions.

Native Content-Driven Advertising Example 2

In the previous blog, I mentioned there are two approaches to do Native Content-Driven Advertising and showed you how to manually target keywords and IAB Categories. In this blog, I describe how to do it automatically using AdRelevantis Content-Analysis service.

In your page head, add the following code.

<script async src="//www.adrelevantis.com/js/dev/prebid.js"></script>
<script src="//www.adrelevantis.com/js/contentdriventag.js"></script>
<script>
  var adUnits = [
    {
      code: 'div1',
      sizes: [
        [300, 300]
      ],
      mediaTypes: {
        native: {
          title: {
            required: true
          },
          image: {
            required: true
          },
          sponsoredBy: {
            required: true
          }
        }
      },
      bids: [{
        bidder: 'adrelevantis',
        params: {
          placementId: 13232354,
          allowSmallerSizes: true
        }
      }]
    },
    {
      code: 'div2',
      sizes: [
        [300, 300]
      ],
      mediaTypes: {
        native: {
          title: {
            required: true
          },
          image: {
            required: true
          },
          sponsoredBy: {
            required: true
          }
        }
      },
      bids: [{
        bidder: 'adrelevantis',
        params: {
          placementId: 13232354,
          allowSmallerSizes: true
        }
      }]
    },
    {
      code: 'div3',
      sizes: [
        [300, 300]
      ],
      mediaTypes: {
        native: {
          title: {
            required: true
          },
          image: {
            required: true
          },
          sponsoredBy: {
            required: true
          }
        }
      },
      bids: [{
        bidder: 'adrelevantis',
        params: {
          placementId: 13232354,
          allowSmallerSizes: true
        }
      }]
    }
  ];
  
  var pbjs = pbjs || {};
  pbjs.que = pbjs.que || [];
  
  var adDivIds = ['div-1','div-2','div-3'];
  document.addEventListener("DOMContentLoaded", function(event){ adrtags("D435C107A8844E15BAA5D4A9B7D94FC5", adUnits, adDivIds); });
</script>

The code creates three ad units, each corresponds one <div> tag in the page.

<div id='div-1'>
</div>
<div id='div-2'>
</div>
<div id='div-3'>
</div>

You can put these tags anywhere you want in the page.

When the page opens, the DOMContentLoaded event handler analyzes the page content to get its IAB Categories and top keywords; the Categories and keywords are sent as request parameters; the SSP and DSP bids based on the request parameters; the matched native ads are displayed.

You can find a working example at https://github.com/ghguo/adrhb-examples/blob/master/ContentExamples/essential-french-onion-soup-native.html. Need more info? Drop us a line at <info@adrelevantis.com>.

Native Content-Driven Advertising Example

There are two approaches to do Native Content-Driven Advertising using AdRelevantis Bidder Adapter: Manually target keywords and IAB Categories, or use AdRelevantis Content-Analysis service. In this blog, we focus on manually targeting keywords and IAB Categories.

We assume that you know basic programming in Prebid.js. Please go here if you are new to Prebid.js.

Assuming that in a page you want to display ads that are related to golf US Open, you can provide the keywords and IAB Categories as First Party Data (fpd) as follows.

pbjs.setBidderConfig({
  bidders: ['adrelevantis'],
  config: {
    fpd: {
      context: {
        keywords: ['US Open'],
        data: {
          category: '/sports/golf'
        }
      }
    }
  }
});

You can find the complete code of this example at https://github.com/ghguo/adrhb-examples/blob/master/native-example.html.